Industry NewsNationalReal Estate Industry News

REIA announces 2020 REIA National Awards for Excellence winners

SA’s Toop&Toop was inducted into the Real Estate Institute of Australia Hall of Fame, Allard Shelton’s Joseph Walton took home a top gong, and NSW agencies blitzed the field at the 2020 REIA National Awards for Excellence.

The winners of the real estate industry’s biggest awards were announced this week after the event planned for next month in Darwin had to be cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

REIA President Adrian Kelly said whilst it was disappointing for the industry not to be able to get together, offices all over the country would have been celebrating the announcements. 

“Industry professionals from across Australia entered the REIA National Awards and we saw winners from each of the states and territories highlighting there are outstanding achievers everywhere,” Mr Kelly said.

Toop&Toop’s big win was the third time running they’d been inducted into the Hall of Fame following wins for Large Residential Agency of the Year at the national level in 2017, 2018 and 2019. It also marked an achievement unparalleled in the awards’ history.

Joseph Walton, Director of Allard Shelton Pty Ltd in Victoria, won the prestigious President’s Award for 2020, recognising significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession.

Mr Kelly said Mr Walton was a passionate property professional with vast knowledge and experience in all sectors of the property market, encompassing the sale and leasing of commercial, retail and industrial properties, in addition to residential sales.

“Joseph has worked extensively with government departments, publicly-listed entities, charitable foundations and high-net-worth private individuals,” Mr Kelly said.

“With exceptional attention to detail and strong ethical standards, Joseph is passionate about giving back to his industry and the broader community, and this is consistently demonstrated through his involvement in various industry associations at both a state and national level.”

New South Wales saw outstanding results with winners in five categories, including Community Service Award taken out by Damien Cooley of Cooley Auctions, and Residential Sales Team of the Year awarded to Morton Real Estate.

Medium Residential Agency of the Year went to Tasmania’s Key2 Property and Helen Lehane of First National Hobart and Kingston won Business Development Manager of the Year.

South Australia’s Sally Cameron of Toop&Toop took home the Residential Salesperson of the Year – the fourth time since the inception of the national awards in 2006 a female salesperson has taken home the award. 

Nikki Katz of Benchmark Business Sales & Valuation in South Australia won Business Broker of the Year for the second year running, and Harris Real Estate in South Australia was awarded the Large Residential Agency of the Year.

The Australian Capital Territory was well-represented with Guy Randell of Burgess Rawson taking home the Commercial Salesperson of the Year, Hannah Gill of Independent Property Management winning the Operational Leadership Award, and Kimberly Nugent – also of Independent Property Management – winning the Residential Property Manager of the Year award. Independent also took home the Innovation award for 2020.

Liz Sterzel of Property Wizards in Western Australia won Buyers’ Agent of the Year, with Sharyn Howe of Realmark North Coastal winning the Operational Support Award.

CBRE Victoria won Commercial Agency of the Year and Kimberley Paterson of CBRE Victoria took home the Achievement Award for 2020.  Luke Piccolo of Woodards Northern in Victoria won Marketer of the Year.

Territorians were proud to see Elders Real Estate Katherine winning Small Residential Agency of the Year.


Achievement Award
ACT: Ravi Soni – Laing+Simmons Commercial Property (ACT)
NT: Bec Wescombe – Knight Frank NT
NSW: Taylah Vine – Dowling Real Estate Raymond Terrace
VIC: Kimberley Paterson – CBRE
NT: Bec Wescombe – Knight Frank NT
WINNER: Kimberley Paterson – CBRE Victoria

Business Broker of the Year
SA: Nikki Katz – Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations
VIC: John Kasapi – Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations
WINNER: Nikki Katz – Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations SA

Buyers’ Agent of the Year
NSW: Shelley Horton – Albion Avenue
SA: Katherine Skinner – National Property Buyers
VIC: Lisa Parker – Parker Buyer Advocates
WA: Liz Sterzel – Property Wizards
WINNER: Liz Sterzel – Property Wizards WA

Commercial Property Manager of the Year
NT: Roger Tebeck – First National Framptons
NSW: Helen Storey – CBRE
SA: Himadri Chatterjee – Colliers International
TAS: Craig Connell – Knight Frank Hobart
VIC: Gabriela Ammendola – GA Industrial & Commercial
WINNER: Helen Storey – CBRE NSW

Commercial Agency of the Year
ACT: Colliers International (ACT)
NT: North Commercial NT
SA: Commercial SA
WA: Transact Capital

Commercial Salesperson of the Year
ACT: Guy Randell – Burgess Rawson ACT
NT: Alison Ross – Elders Katherine\
NSW: Joshua Charles – One Commercial Property
SA: Andrew Turner – Commercial SA
TAS: Andrew Howell – Tucker & Howell
VIC: Todd Grima – CBRE
WINNER: Guy Randell – Burgess Rawson ACT

Operational Support Award
ACT: Natalie Mills – McGrath Dickson
NT: Kylie Westbrook – Real Estate Central
NSW: Edward Gorddard – Colliers International
VIC: Simone Firns – Network Pacific Real Estate
WA: Sharyn Howe – Realmark North Coastal
WINNER: Sharyn Howe – Realmark North Coastal WA

Operational Leadership Award
ACT: Hannah Gill – Independent Property Management
SA: Tiffany Browne – Xsell Property
VIC: Damian Portaro – Ray White Mildura
WA: Christian Smith – Century 21 Real Estate
WINNER: Hannah Gill – Independent Property Management ACT

Marketing & Communications Award
ACT: Independent
NT: Real Estate Central
NSW: Di Jones Real Estate
TAS: Key2 Property
VIC: Kay & Burton
WA: Realmark
WINNER: Di Jones Real Estate NSW

Marketer of the Award
NSW: Michael Crombie – Colliers International
TAS: David Hernyk – Harcourts Launceston
VIC: Luke Piccolo – Woodards (Northern)
WINNER: Luke Piccolo – Woodards (Northern)

Innovation Award
ACT: Independent
NSW: Raine & Horne Terrigal-Avoca Beach
SA: Harris Real Estate
TAS: Key2 Property
VIC: Network Pacific Real Estate
WINNER: Independent ACT

Community Service Award
ACT: Independent
NSW: Damien Cooley – Cooley Auctions
SA: Michele Alexandrou – LJ Hooker St

Show More
Back to top button