Stars shine at 2022 REIACT awards for excellence

The annual REIACT awards for excellence saw 440 professionals come together to celebrate their achievements.

The Announcement:

A Covid lockdown and Federal Election couldn’t deter the real estate industry from reaching new heights in 2021-2022, with 440 professionals from the ACT real estate sector coming together on Friday night at the Hotel Realm to celebrate their achievements and recognise both agency and individual excellence.

“This year, there were 118 submissions over 23 categories for our Awards for Excellence, which is the most ever received in the 28-year history of the Awards” said REIACT President, Hannah Gill.

“I would like to congratulate all our winners and also commend all the finalists.

The record number of submissions this year is a testament to their standard of professionalism and how important these Awards are to our nominees.

We must also recognise our Auctioneering Chapter with 10 entrants in our Auctioneer of the Year and Novice Auctioneer of the Year categories.”

This year’s winners included Jess Smith – Stone Gungahlin, winning the coveted Residential Salesperson of the Year. 

Patrick Barton of Barton Commercial Property, was Rookie of the Year; Matthew Carmody Solicitor of the Year; Charlie Evans of Verv Property, Leasing Consultant of the Year; Burgess Rawson Canberra was named Commercial Agency of the Year; Independent Property Group took out Large Residential Agency of the Year; Ray White Canberra received the Community Service Award; and The Property Collective was named Residential Property Management Team of the Year. 

Team Bunday – LJ Hooker Dickson won Residential Sales Team of the Year; Matthew Winter – Colliers (ACT), Commercial Salesperson of the Year; Alec Brown – Ray White Canberra, Allhomes People’s Choice Auctioneer of the Year and Jonny Warren – Jonny Warren Properties won the Property Marketer of the Year. 

Claire Corby – Capital Buyers Agency was the winner of the Buyers’ Agent of the Year award for the third consecutive year.

Eighteen winners from this years’ awards will now go on to represent the ACT at the REIA National Awards for Excellence to be held in Perth on 9 March 2023.

Alec Brown – Ray White Canberra and Sandra Masters – L J Hooker Kippax will represent the Institute at the Australasian Auctioneering Championships to be held in Sydney from the 16–18 October 2022.

This competition will see the 12 best auctioneers from Australia and New Zealand compete for the crown of Australasia’s best auctioneer.

Guy Randell, Burgess Rawson Canberra and Alec Brown, Ray White Canberra, were inducted into the REIACT Hall of Fame for Commercial Salesperson of the Year 2019, 2020 & 2021 and Auctioneer of the Year 2018, 2019 & 2021 respectively. 

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the three Real Estate Institute of Australia Associates. 

REIA’s Associate and Fellow Programs were launched in 1962 to recognise emerging and established leaders in the industry that were strong supporters of State and Territory Institutes and generate a future pipeline of leaders. 

2022 recipients are Guy Randell – Burgess Rawson Canberra, Claire Corby – Capital Buyers Agency and Alex Ah Key – Blackshaw Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra.  

REIACT thanked all the sponsors who helped made the 2022 Awards for Excellence possible.

Source: Real Estate Institute of the ACT

Show More

News Room

If you have any news for the Real Estate industry - whether you are a professional or a supplier to the industry, please email us: