INDUSTRY NEWSQLD Real Estate NewsReal Estate News

REIQ Zone Chairs to enhance local real estate insights

The Real Estate Institute of Queensland (REIQ) has appointed 16 Zone Chairs to lend their voice and local insights on real estate issues in the state’s largest property markets.

REIQ Chief Executive Officer Antonia Mercorella said the Zone Chairs would fulfil a vital role for the REIQ, representing the organisation at a local level and ensuring the Queensland peak body keeps its finger on the pulse throughout the state.

The Zone Chairs will fulfil a two-year term in 2024 and 2025.

“Queensland has such a highly decentralised population, and so by nature is home to a series of quite different real estate markets,” Ms Mercorella said. 

“Just as the Brisbane market doesn’t necessarily mirror Sydney or Melbourne, we recognise that what’s happening in Queensland’s south-east corner real estate market won’t always be the case in regional markets.

“That’s why we ensure all of Queensland’s major real estate markets have local representation, providing first-hand perspective and insight about the sales and rental markets.

“Importantly, our Zone Chairs are the local face of the REIQ throughout Queensland, and provide boots-on-the-ground representation for our members in all corners of our state.

“They are an integral part of the chain, representing their real estate community’s needs to us and sharing our vision with our members.

“I’m thrilled to announce the REIQ Zone Chair cohort for 2024-25 – our local ambassadors and regional voices for the real estate profession.”

REIQ Zone Chairs 2024-25 are:

  • Brisbane Northern Suburbs: Samantha Ellis (first term)
  • Brisbane Southern Suburbs/Logan: Christie Smith (first term)
  • Brisbane Eastern Suburbs: Julie Harris 
  • Brisbane Western Suburbs: Peter May (first term)
  • Bundaberg: Kirralea Whittle 
  • Caboolture/Redcliffe: Scott Lachmund (first term)
  • Cairns: Tom Quaid 
  • Fraser Coast: Kim Carter 
  • Gladstone: Celina Solis (first term)
  • Gold Coast: Andrew Henderson 
  • Ipswich: Andrew Kenman 
  • Mackay: Allison Cunningham 
  • Rockhampton: Noel Livingston 
  • Sunshine Coast: Matt Diesel 
  • Toowoomba/Darling Downs: Daniel Burrett 
  • Townsville: Benjamin Kingsberry 

Ms Mercorella also thanked the outgoing Zone Chairs for their dedication and support.

Show More

News Room

If you have any news for the Real Estate industry - whether you are a professional or a supplier to the industry, please email us: